About Shaw Island

Accessible by ferry, boat, or airplane, the 172 islands making up the San Juan Islands Archipelago are located at the northern edge of Washington State just south of Vancouver Island, British Columbia. Of the bunch, 4 of the islands are serviced by ferry: San Juan Island, Orcas Island, Lopez Island, and Shaw Island. These four islands are the most populated and provide the majority of lodging, shopping, dining, and medical services. San Juan Island is the home of Friday Harbor and is also the county seat.


The islands offer a temperate year round climate with noticeable seasons. Temperatures are in the 70’s in the summer and 40’s in the winter. We experience some heat spikes during summer months and the occasional snow in winter months. The islands average 247 days of sunshine and only about half the rain of Seattle as we are in the Rain Shadow of the Olympic Mountains.


Learn more at www.shaw.k12.wa.us.